Skip to content

I and You

July 28, 2015

Messages flow
From your heart to mine,
Exchanging and blending
My pain with Yours;
Am I not You?
Are you not I?

My nerves’ tendrils
Entwined with yours,
Your dreams meeting in mine;
Are we not one?
Embraced in multitudes?

In all others’ form,
I see myself,
Perceiving,
In the laments
Of Humanity,
Distantly voiced,
Myself
Whimpering,
As if my face
Were behind millions
Of masks!

I live in
You and me;
Through Your lips
A word passes
From me
To myself;
Your eye’s tear
Wells-up in mine.

In need,
Or distress,
Call me;
If you need
A friend,
Open the door
Between us:
You live in me
As in You.

— Abraham Heschel

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

